View Single Post
  #4  
Old 01-14-2013, 06:39 PM
TDog TDog is offline
WSI Prelate
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Modesto, California
Posts: 16,253
Default

I don't believe the fake-to-third-throw-to-first will be considered a balk if the pitcher is not in contact with the rubber because if you're not on the rubber, you're even allowed to fake to first or second. I don't know how the play ever became legal for pitchers who were in contact with the rubber, but sometime in the 1970s or '80s, umpires stopped calling balks on the play.
Reply With Quote