View Single Post
  #17  
Old 05-15-2013, 02:22 AM
BainesHOF BainesHOF is offline
WSI Church Elder
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oak Park, IL
Posts: 2,916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TDog View Post
Are you being sarcastic? I didn't see the game, but I just caught the play-by-play and watched the scoring plays online, and the Twins announcers seemed to believe that Flowers tagged Morneau and showed on the replay where Flowers tagged him. Morneau did avoid the first tag, sliding far enough away from Flowers that he couldn't reach the plate, but it certainly looked like Flowers tagged Morneau before coming back to the plate. I don't see how you get "a new low" out of that play.

And after Flowers threw out the runner who reached on the Dunn error, I think the defense should be credited for stepping up. Buffoonery would have been Flowers throwing the ball into center on the steal attempt and allowing the runner to score from third on a passed ball. And, if you want to split hairs, that wouldn't have been a new low. Rather, it looked like there was some improvement tonight.
First of all, replays did not show that Flowers tagged Morneau. Perhaps he did. Maybe he didn't. It was a joke that Flowers allowed the play to be in dispute. Rios' throw had Morneau nailed...until Flowers looked like he missed him initially and then looked at the umpire to make the call while Morneau was busy touching the plate. Any catcher with a clue would have secured the ball in his glove with his other hand and dove at Morneau to tag him. It's basic baseball.

For whatever it's worth, Hawk and Stone did not think Flowers tagged Morneau and complimented the umpire for being in a great position to see everything. In any case, Rios' perfect throw was there in plenty of time...until Flowers failed in Catching Fundamentals 101. Even Stone, a former pitcher, knew a catcher should dive at the runner in that situation.

Second of all, Dunn's error was a season lowlight. It's pathetic that a Major League player does not take the field with a glove that works.

So, yes, a new low.
Reply With Quote