View Single Post
Old 05-15-2013, 07:00 AM
DonnieDarko DonnieDarko is offline
WSI Church Elder
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: North side, 60618
Posts: 2,551

Originally Posted by Soxzilla View Post
Watch the replay again, Flowers clearly tags Morneau on the first swipe. You can see the glove bend against Morneau's arm. I mean, it is clear as day at 1:17 in the replay.

Flowers is still not a great major league baseball player, but you're wrong here.
I dunno about the first tag (looks to me like he missed it), but it's obvious that on the second try he got Morneau on the shoulder. Even if it's just a brush against his uniform, that's an out. The umpire blew the call, which, albeit, I can see being hard to make in the moment like that. It definitely was NOT clear to me until a few replays, which umpires in this situation don't have the benefit of (which is an expansion of instant replay I support).

But again, blown call. Fortunately, it didn't cost the Sox the game.

2014 PtC Score: 1
Reply With Quote